Date: 21st April 2009 at 10:29pm
Written by:

Leicester City supporters have voted striker Steve Howard as their player of the year for the 2008/09 season.

The striker has scored 15 goals so far this season for Nigel Pearson’s champions, but more importantly has been taslismanic in helping the team win back promotion to the Championship.

Many fans will be surprised that 31 goal top-scorer Matty Fryatt did not win the award, but great credit is certainly due for Howard that the 23 year-old has found the net so frequently.

Fryatt himself won the disabled supporters’ player of the year award following his impressive season for the Foxes, as he currently sits second in the League One scoring charts behind Rickie Lambert of Bristol Rovers.

The young player of the year award went to Jack Hobbs, who has hugely impressed in his time on loan from Liverpool, and will surely be on Nigel Pearson’s wanted list this summer.

Finally, the goal of the season award fell to Max Gradel for his astonishing last gasp 95th minute free-kick away at MK Dons back in February, which salvaged a vital point for the Foxes.


One Reply to “And The Winner Is?…”

  • I was going to give my vote to D.J. Cambell, but then I remembered that he’s rubbish, so its Steve Howard for me, just because we missed him so much when he was missing?

Comments are closed.